Have you ever walked a mile in someone elses shoes, and got a blister?????

Standard

Have you ever walked a mile in someone elses shoes? I am not only the baggage queen, I am also the shoe queen. I can equate just about any scenario in life to shoe shopping.  As I was packing last night I remembered that I needed to ask my roomie if I could borrow her pumps. These pumps were made to go with this dress I have, perfect, they are peep-toe, shiny, and have little straps around the ankles. I started to think about the last time I wore them, they looked super hot however, after taking a stroll in them my feet hurt like hell!!! As a matter of fact I think I got a blister on my right foot!! Its funny in life how your feet can tell a lot about you. One winter I went off snow shoeing with Erma, great time, so quiet peaceful and me adding miles to another pair of shoes. Well note to self, however far you go into the woods, you have to come out!! (Another great life lesson!!) I was not wearing my good boots and ended up with frost bite. Ahhhhh, not pretty, and to top it off I broke one of my frost-bitten toes the next day.  Well that experience has forever changed how my shoes fit my right foot. I need a shoe that is “giving” in all the right areas and does not put “pressure” on me.

Those Carlos Santana pumps were so stunning up on that rack, colors, style, hight…..wait what?…. no size 8!!!! I’ll take a 7 1/2 please. Right there, that very moment, it was a bad choice!! Why do we choose things that we know we are not going to be comfortable in?  Why do people try to shove a big foot into a tiny shoe, why do people try to fit one personality with another? In relationships you know what type of shoe you’re looking for” if ” you are serious about starting a future. You are not going to be in the platform section trying on spike heels, these will not last the long walk of life. However some women are comfortable in that style for life, they do not have dreams of climbing mountains and adventures, they dream of being a trophy. I want a pair that feels like I am walking on clouds, I want to be able to dance the funky chicken on my 80th birthday in them. I want my “life long shoe”  to come on every adventure with me to every nook and cranny of the earth, its will have to stretch and grow with my foot a little as the years go on.  When you love a shoe that much, you would bring it to the cobbler to be sewn, mended or even re-soul-ed.

I know my life shoe is NOT a flip-flop, every time I wear them I end up with mud up my back, and they are just rather “cheap”. Note to self, watch out for those rubber ones! I know I like peep-toes, but sometimes I like full coverage, and do not like sharing. Soooooo many styles to pick from, make sure you study them all, and feel free to  give them a good run around the shoe department before taking them “out into the world”.  I once had this AWESOME pair, it was the shoe of all shoes, it fit every occasion, season, sport and climb. I was looking for them to bring with me, you know “a life shoe” never misses a trip. It’s a funny thing, I looked everywhere for those shoes but they are gone, perhaps someone borrowed them, stole them, or maybe I was careless and left them on the beach?! I may never find them, but what I do know is, I hope the person who has them takes them to the cobbler and takes special care of them, they were a once in a life time fit for me. So I guess I will just pack 3 pairs, wait maybe 4……………………………………………….

About 365daystofindme

I am giving myself 365 days to find me, and figure out some of my life questions. I am leaving for an adventure of a life time and will blog everyday to share it with my readers. Please feel free to add your own comments or thoughts, I LOVE to laugh too!!! Thank you for taking a moment to read them, and I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoy sharing them. Cheers!!

3 responses »

    • I would never want to be climbing the mountain of life and find out half way through the climb, my “life long shoe” really doesnt have a soul!!!! Make sure you really put your foot all the way into your shoe, half foot does not work, unless you choose a pair of mules 😉

Leave a Reply

