Have you ever had work banging at your door??

Standard

So here I am, its Friday, TGIF all my studying paid off, I got all 100% this week and beat all the boys in school!!! Yippie!!! I finished my last exam early and got to walk home and slip back into bed for a bit of a lie down. Big plans this evening, I have been invited aboard a 250 foot yacht for drinks and cocktails so I was trying to rest up. Well, wouldn’t you know there was someone knocking at the door just as I drifted off to sleep. I am not going to lie, I laid in my bed like a beached whale hoping the knocking would stop……. yeah it didn’t. So up I went to see who the hell was waking me up and low and behold a stew wearing her uniform. I was a bit dazed and just looked at her like a deer in headlights and she said “we are looking for a stew!!, Need one by tomorrow!” my mind went blank, like serious flat lined.

So here I am staying in the best crew house and what do great vessels do when they need a crew member, yup they go to the crew houses to see you and basically interview you on the spot and take you away where ever their next voyage is. Its like shooting fish in a barrel. I can not believe the work and the need for a deck/stew. Some stews refuse to work outside, I rather work outside and then do some inside work if need be, that my friends is a rarity I guess. The need for deck/stews is huge and there are only a small number of us, who knew!

So, me being so quick to think, I gave them M’s card and told them to ring her she would be interested. I came back to bed and laid here thinking for a bit. I have taken a weeks worth of exams, I have met hundreds of captains, they know all of my professors and where I live and they are now coming to me?!? This is a crazy crazy industry. I guess really you are always in an interview. People talk and this is a small industry, might seem stockerish but to be honest I would feel better knowing I belong to a safe crew where the captain has been watching from a far and gathering information on me. I guess its really freaky to me since I am so green.

Now I will take my happy nappy so I can get up n a few hours and get rolling. I am just floored how quickly word travels and how much this industry is different then all others. Sitting duck, that’s what I am, I have been trying to figure out just how much time I want to block off when I return to Boston to stay. I can only imagine that as soon as I wake up the first Monday I am back I will drive down the next weekend. There are no blue trucks, no grey mgs and no motor cycles down here that remind me of home or better yet that live next door. I know as soon as I get back to Boston my heart will sink and I am sick of sinking, I wanna float damn it!!!

Funny thing they teach you down here in school, “If you go man overboard and you are left in the water do not worry about sharks, cause if they are there they will get you so there is nothing to worry about because you will be dead.” Kind of a nice fuzzy thing to think about as I drift off to sleep, I do not want to be sinking in the north only to be eaten by “the sharks” when I can float down here and in my dreams………………………

About 365daystofindme

I am giving myself 365 days to find me, and figure out some of my life questions. I am leaving for an adventure of a life time and will blog everyday to share it with my readers. Please feel free to add your own comments or thoughts, I LOVE to laugh too!!! Thank you for taking a moment to read them, and I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoy sharing them. Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

