Have you ever seen a cocktail toothpick ignite???

Standard

Have you ever seen a cocktail toothpick ignite??? This is just a fantastic idea on how not to use other products in place of another item. Last night we had a small family get together, and my great-aunt Rachel came. I am going to say she must be in her late 80’s. Well my little cousin made her a cake for her birthday and we sang and watched her blow out the candles……. back this ship up, sounds easy right?!?!? Somewhere along the way, someone used 3 of those crazy cocktail toothpicks that have the crazy, cheap, crinkled plastic on the ends as candles.  Maybe this was done with all good intentions, so auntie didn’t have to go into hyperventilation trying to blow them out, sweet thought. Well go old untie saw they “toothpicks” had no flame and proceeded to pick up a real candle and touch it to the top of the toothpick with the highly flammable plastic!!!!! When I tell you the WHOLE family learched forward at the same time, in the middle of singing and said “NO!!!!!” I am not kidding. We all sat and watched as the corner of the cheap plastic flickered and smothered out.

I wonder if I will ever get old?? I was having a hard time keeping up on the conversation last night, and I was one of the younger folk. We went from talking about Dove soap right into a Taco salad dip, is this what happens to us as we get old? Will I someday be talking about a garden hose, and switch to the price of cabbage in China? Just a thought that passed through my mind. I guess these are some of  lifes great questions, how old will I live too? Everyone at the table last night was refered to as Katie, I was not even drinking and my head was spinning on who I actually was. I have to say it was pretty stressful yet fun all rolled into one. I really love my family, we are all so unique, you just never know whats going to happen next. Things like…. egg fights, with under cooked eggs that explode, a Yankee swap on easter and get thongs and bunny ears, getting a word find book on christmas and its half done, I LOVE all these moments and will never ever forget any of them!!!! I know that no matter how far I travel or how long am I gone for I will always have a loving  friends and family here.

I was driving to work this  morning, hating every moment of it, thinking about what I would like to see/experience over the next year. This is what this whole year is about……me!!  I thought about waking up at sunrise, and seeing pods of dolphins swimming like horses pulling a carriage, as I sail into Tortola. I want to see the dew being born on the deep emerald rolling hills of  Ireland. I want to take cello lessons in Italy from a master of his trade. I want to taste the finest french wines on the countryside. I want to feel snow flakes kissing my cheeks in the Alps when I ski. I want to feel the thunder of the wild ponies running in Iceland. I want to hold a piece of history in my hands as I dive ship wrecks. I want to see the man-made islands in Dubai. I want to see nothing around me for hundreds of miles as I do the trans-atlantic crossing. I want to hear steel drums humming as I dance under a starry sky. I want to see fire-works over Sydney harbor that pepper the sky like confetti. I want to see lovers embrace in front of the Eifel tower. I want to take a gondola around Venice and smell fresh breads and listen to new languages. Hell, I want to learn as many new languages as I can! There are so many thing on my bucket list, and I am standing with my toes on the edge of the door jamb to this journey and ready to jump…………………………………………….

About 365daystofindme

I am giving myself 365 days to find me, and figure out some of my life questions. I am leaving for an adventure of a life time and will blog everyday to share it with my readers. Please feel free to add your own comments or thoughts, I LOVE to laugh too!!! Thank you for taking a moment to read them, and I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoy sharing them. Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

