Have you ever tapped danced a solo in the dark???

Standard

Have you ever tapped danced a solo in the dark???  I swear, I think I just did!!! When the lights came on, there were just eyes popping out of heads, like Large Marge in PeeWees Big Adventure.  I tipped my hat with my cane, and left the office, quite an exit interview, eah.  I replayed my moms wise words in my head(basically, play nice ), I had it all planned out, what to say and what to leave out. I did not know they have a list of questions they ask you, so the first question was asked, …. and I gave them a question back in return. Do you want to hear what you want to hear, or do you want to hear the truth?? Yeah, that’s what I said,  I think in a rather business tone and a half-smile. She asked me for the truth, so on went my tap shoes!!!!  (flippidey, flap, flippidey, flap, step shuffle ball chains, and I think I even threw in a few flying buffalos!!!!!!) I must have done 50 laps around her desk, on her desk, perhaps even on the ceiling, and she folded her paper and said “Well, I have no more questions, I will miss working with you, and hope you consider us again”  That was the eye bulging part, she set out with 2 pages of questions for me, and I gave her all the information she needed with the answer to one question.  Damn it!!!!!! The  over archiver beaver, perfectionist and competitor  in me, just took over and I became a cut throat, business women landing a deal, like I was landing a jumbo jet. I guess we shouldnt burn bridges if we don’t have to, just exterminate the trolls that dwell beneath them.

I tapped danced back to my office, grabbed my bag and went to lunch. I had a list of things I needed to purchase before I left. I was always that person who would comb through a store, like looking for a needle in a hay stack, for that crazy deal! However, today was different!!! I did not stray from my list, EVEN when things were incredibly marked down, I just kept thinking, “great more junk to re-home”.  I was able to go and get out with exactly what I needed in 5 mins.(ok, one extra item,  Heath Bar, I lied). The way that I am living my life right, now is a complete 180 from where I was last year. Have you ever seen a tattoo that has faded from the sun, so has the tattoo on my heart that I swore would never fade. Funny, I thought I applied enough sun screen, however I guess my heart was still out on my sleeve. I have such big decisions to make every morning I wake. I have been opening my eyes,  putting each foot on the floor, and wondering what excitement today will bring.  Today I have spoken with many people, captains, mates, decks, agents and stews, and I need to figure out what path I would like to go down.

I have a “bucket list” that goes on for miles, and I am truly going to try to do all things on there within the one year I gave myself.  I don’t want to get on a slow boat down the coast, however I would like to get on a vessel and work my way down to Florida. I want to be in Florida for the boat show, I want to hit the Med, I want to do the islands, I want to do M/Y and S/Y and I think I want to work the next 2 weeks in RI for the sailing races and do deliveries after.  I have Jury duty and wonder if I have to stay for that, I would love to take Labor Day off and go on a little get away. So many different choice and directions, I wonder what this afternoon will bring…………………..??

About 365daystofindme

I am giving myself 365 days to find me, and figure out some of my life questions. I am leaving for an adventure of a life time and will blog everyday to share it with my readers. Please feel free to add your own comments or thoughts, I LOVE to laugh too!!! Thank you for taking a moment to read them, and I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoy sharing them. Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

