Have you ever had someone try to pull the sheep over your eyes???

Standard

Have you ever had someone try to pull the sheep over your eyes??? I learned a VERY important lesson today that all the ladies need to know, do your homework when it comes to auto repairs!!!! So, I woke up this morning feeling like a bus ran me down, and dragged me 18 blocks after my grunt work yesterday. Not only that, I look like I have the hives on my forehead, from all the sanding dust sticking to my face,  and me sweating like a whore in church (it is 100 degrees down here)after yesterday. I will NEVER EVER EVER DO THAT AGAIN. So I told Jess I would go to the dealership today to have her car fixed. This is defiantly where I would que the music from Jaws.

Off we went, she was nervous because she could not understand what they were talking about, and she couldn’t translate what she needed to say to them, and to top it all off finances are tight. As we pulled into the lot, I felt like we were pulling onto the red carpet, all these “customer service” guys looking to tag a number on us so they could get the commission. What they didn’t know is,  that I kind of understand auto talk  from being in my dads back pocket growing up, and a few boyfriends who didn’t mind sharing the “secrets of the trade”. (BTW Thank you guys, its been priceless) I told Jess right off, “Let me do the talking, they work for us, we do not work for them. Less is more.” I have to say, that was hard for her to understand but she caught on RIGHT away.

So I listened to their sales pitch, I told them EXACTLY what I wanted, and EXACTLY how much I was willing to pay for “said item”. This is where the dealership turns into a great game of let’s make a deal. We waited for a few mins, I casually walked over made myself a cup of that crappy free coffee, sat in the sun and smoke a butt. Shortly after the customer service man arrived back and said he was willing to make a deal……… this is where I upped the ante. He said for 20 dollars more he could do what I was asking for, in my mind this is a great sign, they are open to negotiating prices, no price is set in stone.  What he didn’t understand is that I had noticed EVERYTHING since I walked onto the lot, everything even the auto tech who said “Today is SOO SLOW I need work so I can make money”, even if he was just having water cooler talk across the room I listened to it all.

I counter offered to the original amount, I said ” 20 bucks more but we need an oil change and a tire rotation!!”.  He looked a bit put out until I pulled out my phone and started googling other prices, and within seconds a deal was made, in my favor. This is a very important thing to remember, always low ball them and use your phone to your advantage, and always have extra ears and eyes.  It was a rather beautiful morning, we took a nice stroll and got some sun and when we got back their counter offer was ready. I knew they were going to do this, come back with a laundry list of things that need to be done from their 27 point safety inspection. They told us that she needed a new key, hers was “sticky” that was $45, they said her indicator light was out that was another $25, and that her whole center console needed to be pulled to fix the gear indicator $265…….. yeah right!!!!!!

I googled the key AND called a friend, yes the dealership price was $85, and yes $16 online but required lots of prep work, but hello, her mom and dad have her spare and they can send it to her. She started to panic about a “sticky key”, and OF COURSE the sales guy was like “Yeah, you never know, it could stick and NOT WORK AT ALL  and you could be alone in the dark in a creepy place”.  I felt like saying “Yeah, and when your done scaring the crap out of my friend, we can have her spare sent down for a buck, but I will gladly  boot you in the ass for free…… Just for being the ass clown of the day!!!”. To make a long story shorter, I walked over to the parts department and bought the damn light bulb. We paid exactly the price I settled on and we were on our way………..right?!?!?………not so fast!! I had Jess pull out of the bay  and I went to change the bulb right there and BINGO, NONE of her bulbs were even out!!!! Let me tell you, I have never seen so many tan men look so pale in one place all at the same time. They were totally scamming us!!! No bad bulb, no center console needed to be pulled, I pulled it with a bottle opener on Friday night in a parking lot……… and I fixed the plastic strip.

This was a huge lesson for Jess, and should be for all women, have confidence in what you think and know when it comes to cars.  I defiantly told them how I felt about their “little scam” this morning, and I am sure a few others in the dept over heard me. (What can I say, I speak loudly) At the end of they day we figured that we saved at least $300 just from me utilizing my knowledge. Here is the lesson, if someone is ever kind enough to spill information about a topic/item you do not understand, (or even care to understand) listen to them, because there may be a time and a place that the information given to you for free  may save you hundreds, or even your life…………………………….(Think about it!)

About 365daystofindme

I am giving myself 365 days to find me, and figure out some of my life questions. I am leaving for an adventure of a life time and will blog everyday to share it with my readers. Please feel free to add your own comments or thoughts, I LOVE to laugh too!!! Thank you for taking a moment to read them, and I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoy sharing them. Cheers!!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

