Have you ever tried to out run a blister???

Standard

Have you ever tried to out run a blister???  Do not do this, it only brings more discomfort the following morning. So while I was away, and decided to get this body back into tip-top shape, I started running again. I had to make do with what I had for sneakers, they are great little pink Sperry sneakers, but they were not ment to be running sneakers. Thursday night my roomie and I did this huge run, down Las Olas and down around the beach and back, and I wore my Sperry’s……… I have two blood blisters on my baby piggy toes that could stop a buffalo in its tracks as proof. The run was great, we ran by people eating out at all the patio dining areas, little candles on the tables along the way that lit our path like a landing strip, a baby grand piano here and a trumpet player there, made up the perfect sound track to this late night run. I didn’t feel a thing, I think I was too absorbed in my surroundings and feeling the burn of my legs to just keep running. (Just keep running, this seems to be my M.O.)

I grabbed my REAL running sneakers last night and thought that since they were the ” correct” shoe I could run and maybe the blisters would “go away” naturally with the movement of my foot………..not so much. I now have two blood blisters on each toe and today I feel like I have bamboo shoots stuck through my feet. Again, last night as I ran, I saw lovers kissing in the common under the dim lights, a wedding going on inside the hotel through the windows becoming the new Mr. and Mrs., strangers becoming friends as they shared a park bench on a balmy New England evening and I like Forest Gump,  just kept running.

Do I run because I want to be fit, do I run because I am always in a rush to see everything I can around me, or do I run because it’s a strange metaphor about my life? Every time I run, why do I find that its pure romance going on around me, and I have to be blasting by like a sweaty Buzz Lightyear, am I trying to out run something that is chasing me, like my own life? Maybe I got blisters from wearing two different “mental shoes”, the ” house mouse want to be settled shoe”, and the “Dont trust anyone but yourself” shoe. I guess the answer really lies in the imbalance of my soul.

So here I am, drinking my ice coffee on the deck, looking over the boats on a beautiful Sunday morning.  Erma is laying on the floor like a little sausage link. She is so content here, there is no fighting that my dog is going to be the demise of us, there is not line in the sand of whose duty it is to take her out because she wont be apart from me, she is like a garnish on an exotic dish, just peacefully laid out in all her beauty. How the hell can something go from being a breaking point in one relationship to a happy companion in another, somethings just don’t make sence to me. I think I will follow Erma’s calmness on this one, and feel safe and loved while I am here.

Well, the 10am church bells are tolling,  and the smell of bacon from down stairs is  filling the air, like the patrons shuffling into the restaurant for morning brunch. I have to get cracking, I am making Thanksgiving dinner today, since I have no idea if I will be back before then. Cooking will be my sport today since my feet have decided to take a sick day. I am off for apple picking and cider donuts with the family and a little football this evening, all my favorite New England traditions. All my friends keep asking how long I am here for, the sad part is I really don’t know, maybe till my blisters heal and I can start running again…………………………….

 

 

 

 

About 365daystofindme

I am giving myself 365 days to find me, and figure out some of my life questions. I am leaving for an adventure of a life time and will blog everyday to share it with my readers. Please feel free to add your own comments or thoughts, I LOVE to laugh too!!! Thank you for taking a moment to read them, and I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoy sharing them. Cheers!!

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

