Have you ever watched your South African friend learn to drive a scooter???

Standard

Have you ever watched your South  African friend learn to drive a scooter???   Holly carp, I never laughed so hard in my life, and yet still had an awful feeling of “something is gonna go really wrong here!”.  She is such a hoot and always up for adventure, however her driving skills are VERY SCARY! Down here there are so many scooters, people either hoof it, bike it or have a scooter.  After watching her I was tempted to get a scooter as well, just so I wouldn’t be walking and get hit by her! She doesn’t need a helmet to drive her scooter, but I decided I need one to walk.

Here we go, first sign the scooter rental is not going to go well…. “Here hold my beer, I wanna drive this thing!”. Funny, I was waiting for someone, anyone to say “Not a good idea!”, but an odd silence fell over us. Deer in headlights, that’s exactly what I was as they were going over how to even start the thing for her. She is NOT technically inclined at all, and them even showing her how to apply the brakes was a huge undertaking. After a few stall outs and wobbles at the stand still, she was off,……..kind of, she has a fear of picking her feet up off the ground!

As she pulls away from the sidewalk, and actually looks as though she may have this scooter thing down, she yells out “Ohy…..what side of the road do I drive on???!!”. Yup, for sure, she was on the wrong side of the road, how many scooters are rented to people who can’t drive down here? Honestly, that question is still running through my mind. All these times I thought people were taking a  “short cut” over the median in front of my house, and now I am thinking they just lost control or forgot what side of the road they are to be on, and just do a bit of off roading.

Off roading over a median, yeah, I have done that a few times in my life as well. Granted I was not on a scooter, but still I have done my fair share in a truck. I actually started to think about that I as watched one guy almost bite it hard cutting across. When I was younger, I was wearing a shirt and boots (Yeah, no pants) and I had an Easter basket of all things, and I did some serious off roading over a median to get home. Why do we do such stupid things sometimes? I guess we learn from our mistakes, and every experience in life is a learning experience. It may take a few years to look back and see what exactly it is/was you learned, but I bet you can find  at least one lesson in everything “that went wrong”…………………………………………………………………….

P.S. Happy Birthday, I hope you have an amazing day and I miss you! xoxo 🙂

 

 

 

About 365daystofindme

I am giving myself 365 days to find me, and figure out some of my life questions. I am leaving for an adventure of a life time and will blog everyday to share it with my readers. Please feel free to add your own comments or thoughts, I LOVE to laugh too!!! Thank you for taking a moment to read them, and I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoy sharing them. Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

