Have you ever assessed the fish in your livewell???

Standard

Have you ever assessed the fish in your livewell??? I was out the other night with the ladies, and I stared to zone out (Something I do often, when tired!),  I could hear this chitty chatter, and I swore they were talking about a fishing tournament.  Things like “he’s a keeper”, “the one who got away”, “other fish in the sea” and “too big for his tank” were being tossed back and forth across the table.  Why do women compare their man/relationships to fish and fishing?!? I didn’t say anything for a few minutes and just listened, I love fishing and really wanted to see where this was going. BINGO ……. they started talking about all the fish in their “dating pools”!!!!

One fish, two fish, red fish, blue fish ……. does every women have a livewell of “dating fish”, that can be called upon on a moments notice to “fill the spot”?? Better yet, what do these fish look like, do they do tricks like balancing tea cups on their tails, are the wild or farm raised???? I don’t have a livewell, nor have I ever kept a “fish” alive just to throw him  out on a hook,  or get to stable  land and chop his head off!!! This is a very vicious way of thinking about men, I wonder do guys have livewells too?? I suddenly felt like rather than pretty little sun dresses, they should all be dress in full camouflage and be drinking Bud Lights. I actually thought of poor Mr. Limpet, could he be swimming around in one their livewells, just waiting to be used as the” bait fish”, the fish that makes the other bigger stronger fish jealous and drives them to attack. I guess from what I gathered, they use bait fish like throwing chum in the water to attract the big fish, blood in a shark tank style.

I think the “catch and release” method is a good way of preserving our stock of wild caught fish. If you take the time to reel one in, and once you get a good look at it and see its a Bonefish and you wanted a Wahoo, just gently let him go to swim into another hook. The more these big game sport fish are caught and neglected, flopping around on a dry deck for a bit, then tossed carelessly back into the sea doing a belly flop, the harder it is for the women who want to” catch” rather than “fish”.  This whole thinking process also made me start to think about this whole “fish or cut bait” thing,  I am  more confused than a blind lesbian in a fish shop, who decides if you’re gonna fish or cut bait?? The fish or the fishing enthusiast??!!!

I translated  some  of the big game fish in my head:  Bull Dolphin =Pushy Metro man;  Grouper =Cant be with out his possy guy; Snook= Jersey shore type of guy;  Snapper= always in a bad mood guy; King Mackerel=creepy stage five clingger guy; and of course who can forget the Blue Marlin= the over inflated ego guy!!!!   I have reeled in some of these  “trophy fish” in my day, however I know I am happiest with the Captain of my boat, and we don’t need livewells.  There are seasons for every fish, perhaps its just a waiting game for your right season to roll around…………..

About 365daystofindme

I am giving myself 365 days to find me, and figure out some of my life questions. I am leaving for an adventure of a life time and will blog everyday to share it with my readers. Please feel free to add your own comments or thoughts, I LOVE to laugh too!!! Thank you for taking a moment to read them, and I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoy sharing them. Cheers!!

One response »

Leave a Reply

