Have you ever been the crouton in your life salad???

Standard

Have you ever been the crouton in your life salad??? I am sure a vision of some great Caesar salad just popped into your head, but have you ever thought about yourself as the crouton? Hey, croutons are great, they add texture and visual appeal to those greens, but what actually makes up a crouton?! ……… STALE BREAD, bread that has been expose to a lot of heat, bread that has been (in most fine restaurants) seasoned, bread that tends to be pretty square in nature and firm, and bread that tends to explode into a million tiny fragments when stuck by a knife!!!  It’s always those damn croutons that give you a run for your money, you try to save them till last, but they give such a good chase around the dish to become a victim of your fork. Sometimes they give such a good chase, they end up going back to the kitchen, alone on an empty plate never to be captured by the mighty fork!!! Trust me, in most cases  the lone crouton on the plate is only their for one reason…… the dinner did not have the nuts just to stab it, they were trying to be proper! (Maybe a big date or a business dinner…..just saying from experience……lol)

So in your life, among the lush greens,  the slender carrots, the plump tomatoes, and maybe the cool cucumbers have you ever felt like the crouton? Have you have hit the point of stale, exposed to too much heat and maybe over seasoned in your life salad? Why does this seem to be a trend in everyone’s life? I was talking to a friend of mine the other night, and we were talking about relationships and where she and I were in relationships and it hit me………. I couldn’t stop it, it fell out of my mouth like an acorn from a tree, I said it…….. “You have become a crouton!!!”.( Now, thank goodness this person knows me well enough not to turn around and punch me, she knows I am a few screws short of a tool kit!!!) There, I put a label on it, we all do it, we get comfortable and never change.

The crouton effect, really equates too,  the” old shoe” effect, and the good old ” welcome to the comfort zone” thing, once you enter ” the zone ” you may never get out again. This is whole ” becoming stale” in your life thing is such a huge question to me. Why do we let it happen, we know it is happening during the time it creeps in like a dense fog, but we never do anything about it. We all just go for drinks with friends or sweep it under the carpet for another day to deal with it, why……….doesnt that make it worse?? Is it not  better to confront a problem, that you know is looming, before it turns into a catastrophe? And I call it a catastrophe with such vigor, because by the time we confront it, most parties that are “so lucky “to be mixed in your life salad are really vested at this point, end up walking away hurt.

I can speak from the horse’s mouth on this view, I have been the carrot and the cucumber, but I have also found myself the crouton. There have been days in my life, where I ran like the dickens to escape the stick from the “fork”, knowing it would shatter me into crumbs. In fact, I know I have been ” forked” a few times, but I still managed to pull myself back together and get onto my next life salad.  I also know that in my life I have been ” the one” crouton, that gave such a good chase all over the plate (What a dumb ass looking back now…….), that my end fate was the garbage, because I never stood still long enough to be forked.  I guess we all find our ways in the long run, and I hope we all never stay in the crouton state long, life is far too short to become stale and just “comfortable”.  One of the most important things that I can take away from this whole finding me experience, is that if it seems like its wrong, then it’s probably wrong and move on.  Do not put off till to tomorrow that can be done today, you are worth far too much, and this is your only chance………………..go for it!!!!

(P.S. I would also like to add as a BONUS to this post as a learning experience……..DO NOT LEAVE GARLIC BREAD UNATTENTED IN AN OVEN IT WILL BURN AND BECOME USELESS !!!!! Perhaps its a sign!!!!)

 

 

About 365daystofindme

I am giving myself 365 days to find me, and figure out some of my life questions. I am leaving for an adventure of a life time and will blog everyday to share it with my readers. Please feel free to add your own comments or thoughts, I LOVE to laugh too!!! Thank you for taking a moment to read them, and I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoy sharing them. Cheers!!

3 responses »

  1. Here is my favorite line of all;
    “I also know that in my life I have been “ the one” crouton, that gave such a good chase all over the plate (What a dumb ass looking back now…….), that my end fate was the garbage, because I never stood still long enough to be forked.”
    Perfection Kate!!!

Leave a Reply

