Have you ever taken a phone call in your sleep, on Austin Powers phone???

Standard

Have you ever taken a phone call in your sleep, on Austin Powers phone???  Over the weekend I went on a road trip to Maryland with an old friend of mine. I had a rather large interview Friday morning with a company that I would KILL to work for and things went GREAT! After my interview I drove to Rhode Island and off we went to Maryland …… it was very interesting to say the least. When I flew back to Boston from Florida, I had only intended to stay for a visit, and be off again back to sunny skies and blue waters after Thanksgiving. Well…… here it is December and I am still here, people ask “What happened to Florida??”, Florida is still where I left it folks, sticking off the country like a finger stirring the warm waters, just waiting for me. (Perhaps I should buy everyone world map shower curtains like mine?) I decided to stick around and see what this pharmaceutical company had to offer, it seems like a DREAM pinch me, because I must be dreaming, this is a reason I would stay! Traveling the world, meeting new people, making big bucks and in a career that is my passion…..yeah it must be a dream!!!

So, on Sunday night my friend and I thought it would be a GRAND idea to drive home from Maryland, there we were pulling out onto the highway at midnight, as I look up I see 4 sets of headlights coming head on……yeah……she pulled onto the wrong side of the highway! After living a skit right out of Tommy Boy I took the wheel, and we were off with no sleep, food or shower in 24 hours my arrival home was exhausting to say the least. The only 2 cents I can give to anyone on this subject is, even if it seems like a great idea, ITS NOT!!!! I tried to catch up on as much sleep as possible but had another interview this morning and that really cut into my beauty rest. Ahhhhhhh, the house to myself the fireplace crackling away, me snuggled on the couch watching movies, sleep slowing settling over me like a dense fog (Like I drove all the way home in the other night, also a note to self when driving up the coast at night. I could not see 20 feet in front of the car the whole way home!!!) …….and that’s when it happened. During my eight-hour ride on Friday I downloaded all new ringtones, I changed my ringtone to Austin Powers ringtone, I had it before and I really enjoyed it. As I was sleeping deeply (o.k., slipped into a coma!)  Austin Powers was on T.V., my phone started ringing, only I thought I was dreaming, and agreed to meet a company for an interview next Tuesday!!! I guess the saving grace to that experience is that I didn’t answer the phone saying “Yes Basel, this is Ivana Humpalot”!

This is fantastic, I can not believe that in this time frame home, I have now had 6 companies calling me to interview. I am in the position to pick and choose who and what company I want, and what ever little shiny benefits comes along with them………only thing now, I have NO CLUE what company that was I agreed to meet with this time!!! Yes, I love yachting, sun, traveling, and meeting new people, but why would I pass up a job in Veterinary medicine (my #1 passion), when I can have the best of both worlds?? I guess Florida and the sea will always be there, like I keep telling everyone, but will a job like this still be here if I decided to leave again? I feel as though both industries are neck and neck on my passion scale the only thing pushing the Veterinary industry out in the lead is these jobs come with extras, extras that will come in handy in the long run. I am a planner, and the thought of my 401k getting fatter and fatter is a great vision, it’s not everything, but I have to say no yacht comes with a 401k package!

I feel like I am reading one of those books from my childhood, where when you get to the bottom of the page you can choose your own adventure, turn to page 56 for this adventure and 23 for that adventure. I have made it to the bottom of the page and need to pick what page I want to turn to next, funny for the fist time in 32 years I feel for once I am the CEO of me, and I make my own decisions. I know what offer I need to have to stay, and if that offer is not in the cards for me then I make my way back to the islands……. I really can’t say either page is a bad page to turn to right now. For someone who came for a quick visit and not working, I am finding myself extremely busy, my next task is try to figure out who the hell I am meeting next Tuesday………………………..

 

 

About 365daystofindme

I am giving myself 365 days to find me, and figure out some of my life questions. I am leaving for an adventure of a life time and will blog everyday to share it with my readers. Please feel free to add your own comments or thoughts, I LOVE to laugh too!!! Thank you for taking a moment to read them, and I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoy sharing them. Cheers!!

One response »

  1. So I guess it would come as no surprise (or coincidence) that I love anything Austin Powers~~ Talk about having ALL your eggs in every basket from here to the other side of the country & back! I’m glad you will always have Florida & the yachts.. & Im glad your dream profession is seeking YOU out… hmmm that’s gotta mean something….sounds like a little divine intervention to me… and does that make you randy???? 😉

Leave a Reply

